STATE OF MONTANA OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR EXECUTIVE ORDER No. 08-2013

EXECUTIVE ORDER PROCLAIMING AN EMERGENCY TO EXIST IN THE STATE OF MONTANA, SPECIFICALLY INCLUDING THE COUNTIES OF TREASURE, YELLOWSTONE, MUSSELSHELL, BIG HORN, CARBON, SWEET GRASS, STILLWATER, LINCOLN, FLATHEAD, LAKE, SANDERS, BROADWATER, MEAGHER, CASCADE, TETON, PONDERA, GLACIER, TOOLE, LIBERTY, PARK, GALLATIN, MADISON, BEAVERHEAD, SILVER BOW, DEER LODGE, GRANITE, RAVALLI, JEFFERSON, LEWIS & CLARK, POWELL AND MISSOULA

WHEREAS, extremely hazardous wildland fire conditions currently exists throughout the Southwest portion of the State of Montana; and

WHEREAS, the hot and dry conditions are predicted to continue through the months of August and September; and

WHEREAS, numerous wildland fires have occurred in the State of Montana; and

WHEREAS, in the past, an aggressive initial attack on all wildland fire starts has been the top priority of Montana's fire fighting forces; and

WHEREAS, an aggressive initial attack considerably reduces the number of large wildland fires, which in turn significantly reduces the damage to both public and private property; and

WHEREAS, continued aggressive initial attacks on all future wildland fire starts are needed to protect lives and property in the state; and

WHEREAS, additional state resources are needed to reinforce Montana's initial attack capabilities and support reduction of large wildland fires should they occur; and

WHEREAS, wildland fires have been and are currently burning and have created an imminent threat of a disaster, which timely actions can avert or minimize; and

WHEREAS, under these conditions, pursuant to Sections 10-3-302, 10-3-311, and 10-3-312, MCA, the Governor may mobilize state resources and the Montana National Guard to protect life, health, and property and may expend funds to meet contingencies and needs that may arise from the emergency.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, STEVE BULLOCK, Governor of the State of Montana, pursuant to the authority vested in me as Governor under the Constitution of the State of Montana, Title 10, Chapter 3, MCA, and under other applicable statutes, do hereby declare an emergency to exist within the State of Montana, specifically including the counties of Treasure,

Yellowstone, Musselshell, Big Horn, Carbon, Sweet Grass, Stillwater, Lincoln, Flathead, Lake, Sanders, Broadwater, Meagher, Cascade, Teton, Pondera, Glacier, Toole, Liberty, Park, Gallatin, Madison, Beaverhead, Silver Bow, Deer Lodge, Granite, Ravalli, Jefferson, Lewis & Clark, Powell and Missoula, as defined in Sections 10-3-103 and 10-3-302, MCA.

This Order is effective August 19, 2013.

GIVEN under my hand and the GREAT SEAL of the State of Montana, this 19th day of August, 2013.

STEVE BULLOCK, Governor

ATTESTED:

LIMDA MCCULLOCH, Secretary of State